The Cross-Border Road Transport Agency to transfer its Law Enforcement Unit to the Road Traffic Management Corporation The Cross-Border Road Transport Agency to transfer its Law Enforcement Unit to the Road Traffic Management Corporation

Media Statement

Friday, 28 March 2017

To: All Media

Attention: News Editors / Transport Reporters / All Reporters

For immediate use

The Cross-Border Road Transport Agency (C-BRTA), will officially transfer its Law Enforcement Division to the Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) on Wednesday, 29 March 2017.

Minister of Transport, Ms Dipuo Peters will deliver a keynote address during the ceremony. Both organisations are public entities reporting to the Department of Transport.

The C-BRTA and RTMC have been hard at work over the past year to implement the resolutions of the 2015 National Road Safety Summit of creating a single traffic law enforcement in South Africa. To this end, the Minister directed the harmonising of the Traffic Law Enforcement Agencies in support of Section 199 of the Constitution to ensure:

  • Single and identical uniform for traffic law enforcers throughout the country;
  • Single and identical branding for traffic law enforcement vehicles;
  • Single command and control for traffic law enforcers; and
  • Same basic conditions and career pathing for traffic law enforcers.

As a start towards attaining this vision, the law Enforcement Division of the CBRTA was identified as one of the law enforcement units that had to be transferred to the RTMC to enable the Entity to extend its function to include the enforcement of the Cross-Border Road Transport Act.

The Minister will deliver a keynote address in line with the theme; “Together, marching towards single law enforcement in Transport.”

The details of the event are as follows:

Venue: Boekenhout Traffic College, Sandui Road, Boekenhoutkloof, West, Pretoria 0030, South Africa
Date: Wednesday, 29 March 2017
Time: 14h00

To confirm your attendance, please contact Tshegofatso Maake on 063 2819453/ 0729191168 or via email on, alternatively contact Kago Ramoroka on 073 500 8106 or via email on


Editors’ Notes (Facts about the Cross-Border Road Transport Agency)

  • The Cross-Border Road Transport Agency (C-BRTA) is a statutory body, situated in Menlyn, Pretoria. The mandate of the C-BRTA is set out in terms of the CrossBorder Road Transport Act 4, of 1998, as amended (the Act). It operates in a commercial environment, with Government (represented by the Minister of Transport) being the shareholder.
  • The Cross-Border Road Transport Agency (C-BRTA) facilitates unimpeded flow of freight and passenger cross-border movements and plays a critical role in the implementation of cross-border road transport agreements and issuing of crossborder operator permits.
  • The Agency regulates all passenger and freight Cross-Border Road Transport from South Africa into the Southern African Development Community Region (SADC).
  • Cross-Border Road Transport is underpinned by multilateral and bilateral agreements between South Africa and several of its neighbouring countries under the auspices of the Cross- Border Road Transport Agency and the SADC Protocol on Transport, Communications and Meteorology, including the SACU Memorandum of Understanding.
  • The SADC Protocol on Transport, Communications, and Meteorology highlights the fact that the transport sector has a regional and global character and as such, seeks to promote integration and co-operation in transport matters between member states.

Core Functional Areas

  • Road Transport Inspectorate - monitors the carriers through country-wide inspections and ensures that carriers operate within the prescribed legal parameters.
  • Facilitation and Industry Development- ensures that consultations and partnerships with other key role players within South Africa and SADC are fostered and maintained.
  • Regulatory - responsible for the issuing and facilitation of all cross border permits.
  • Research and Advisory - advises the Minister of Transport and the DoT on regional road transport imperatives and challenges. This function also monitors and counteracts any restrictive measures that may be implemented by other states in the SADC region.

Issued by:

National Department of Transport

Enquiries: Mr Ishmael Mnisi:
Spokesperson for the Minister of Transport
Tel: 072 566 0827


Copyright © 2018 Department Of Transport. All rights reserved. Republic of South Africa. | Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use